DIY Session #1: Painting Chairs

Two of the traits that I got from my parents that am absolutely grateful for were:

  1. Immense obsession-compulsion to details, down to the teeny minute information (courtesy of my amazing mother)
  2. DIY genes (courtesy of my all-around handyman father)

Being too detail-oriented (perfect euphemism for obsessive-compulsive) has its list of pros and cons. On the other hand, being a DIY person, so far, it’s mostly pros specifically on having to save oodles of cash.

One of the first home DIYs I did was to paint our dining chairs. The used chairs we purchased from that thrift shop and from the snooty lady have evidently witnessed way better days, and are in dire need of retouch/repair.

For the couple of medieval-ish chaises, I removed the red seat cover on one of the chairs (which took me 2 days, it reeks like high-grade vinegar), soap-cleaned the striped upholster of the other, and then painted white the rest of the wood parts.

roi-et-reine-chaise

Now, for the remaining 4. I painted them white as well, but left the seat in its original wood finish, sans any treatment (varnish, lacquer) of any kind. They turned out to be looking quite blissful, considering the meager condition they were in before they were upcycled.

chaises - painted

I was doing the painting before going to work, then re-apply paint once it’s dry the following day. It took me 5 days for everything to be finished.

Leave a comment

Follow Vie est art. on WordPress.com

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 3,072 hits